Dad: (jumping for joy) “This is one of my greatest dreams come true! And I’m sure you’re as excited as I was when I joined my parents in the family business. So, what do you say, Jen?” Jen: (stalling for time) “Well, I’m not surprised. I did work in the business during summers and school vacations just like my brother and his wife did, and now my college graduation is only a few months away. I, uh, guess it makes sense. It’s sort of what I always expected, too. It’s just that I’ve got, well, some concerns, and I guess I’d like to think about it some more…” Be sure to lobby for a competitive salary, one that would be paid to a non-family employee performing a similar job. Obviously, your in-laws would be cheating you if they underpaid you, but overpaying can be even worse. If you’re paid more than non-family members, you’re getting into bondage – the golden handcuff variety. The inflated salary can easily tie you to a job you might neither like nor be suited for, but you can’t afford to leave. Your big bucks can also raise the hackles among non-family members in the company. The following questions can help you decide whether or not you’re cut out for mixing business and family.