As a stay-at-home mom in Brooklyn, I’m constantly on the go with my 18-month-old son. From classes to play dates to the playground, I always need the necessities with me: diapers, all kinds of wipes, snacks, toys, water, sunblock, etc. Previously, I carried a black leather tote-style diaper bag, but now with a toddler, it was time for a change. Enter the Mancro Diaper Bag Backpack. Diaper bag backpacks like this are more functional and easier to carry—not to mention, the pockets make it easier to locate what you need and when you need it. The best part is that the Mancro won’t break the bank. Here, I gave the diaper bag a test drive to see if it held up (and made my life easier) during a weekend in the neighborhood. Read on to see what I thought! 

Design: Super functional, but not super attractive 

The Mancro Diaper Bag Backpack features 14 pockets—plenty of places to put everything my son and I need for a day out. The main compartment held diapers, my wallet, and some toys, along with the included changing pad, which, like others I’ve come across, is a bit smaller than I would like for my toddler (at 15 × 21 inches). There’s a designated wipes pocket, which, unlike others I’ve tried, actually held a package perfectly.  I put snacks and my son’s water cup in one of the two insulated side pockets and my sunglasses, phone, and keys in the front top pocket. If you need to hold your laptop in this bag, there is a separate compartment for devices under 15.6 inches, and there’s an additional front pocket for odds and ends as well. Really, my only storage complaint was that the main compartment was a little too narrow to hold anything wider like larger snack containers.  This bag comes in various hues. I tested the gray colorway and wish it was darker. I felt the black trim against the lighter gray color wasn’t that attractive, and I really didn’t love the mustard yellow interior color. 

Portability: Stroller straps allow for relief from carrying on your back 

The Mancro Diaper Bag Backpack is a great day-to-day option. At less than 2 pounds, the bag is super lightweight and has a slim design measuring at around 11 inches long, 7 inches wide, and 16.5 inches tall. Thanks to the padding on the straps and the back of the bag, I found the backpack super comfortable to carry, yet I didn’t feel like I was wearing a bulky backpack. I love that it also has stroller straps. I take walks with my son in a stroller, so it was nice to hook the backpack on the stroller handle. And when my child was playing on the playground, I was able to quickly slip the backpack on rather than leave it with the stroller or carry it on my arm—much more functional for chasing after my little one! The heavy-duty dual-metal zippers are touted as being anti-theft as well.

Ease of Cleaning: Water-resistant fabric makes for an easy cleanup

This backpack is designed with water-resistant fabric, which is pretty standard with this type of bag. Of course, anything in reach of messy toddler hands calls for some maintenance. When necessary, simply wipe with a damp cloth and spot clean. 

Price: You won’t break the bank with this bag  

Mancro Diaper Bag Backpack vs. Bag Nation Diaper Bag Backpack

Another budget-friendly diaper bag backpack I tested is the Bag Nation Diaper Bag Backpack. Like the Mancro, the Bag Nation Diaper Bag Backpack has 14 pockets that make it easy to keep supplies organized. It also features padded shoulder straps, a padded back, and a changing pad. But it’s a little more pleasing to the eye, with a simple black exterior that doesn’t scream “diaper bag” to me.  The Bag Nation is a little bit more expensive, retailing at around $70, but this would be a good one to check out depending on your personal style and if you’re willing to spend a bit more money.   The Mancro Diaper Bag Backpack is an inexpensive, functional diaper bag that will keep all of your necessities organized in its 14 pockets. The back and shoulder strap padding is super comfortable, and the stroller straps offer more carrying options.