Most of the time, when a rhyme is completed, the counting begins. The rope can be swung at regular speed or cranked up to “hot pepper” (where you start swinging the rope overhead). Continue the counting and jumping until the person makes a misstep or wants to stop. Try out the different options below and/or experiment to come up with your family’s own routine of jump rope moves and personalized rhymes. Down in the valleyWhere the green grass grows,There sat JaneySweet as a rose.Along came JohnnyAnd kissed her on the cheek.How many kissesDid she get this week?1, 2, 3, 4, 5… Cinderella, dressed in yellowWent upstairs to kiss her fellowMade a mistakeAnd kissed a snakeHow many doctorsDid it take?1, 2, 3, 4, 5… Johnny gave me apples,Johnny gave me pears.Johnny gave me 50 centsTo kiss him on the stairs. I gave him back his apples,I gave him back his pears.I gave him back his 50 centsAnd kicked him down the stairs.1, 2, 3, 4, 5… Janey and JohnnySitting in a tree,K-I-S-S-I-N-GFirst comes love,Then comes marriageThen comes JaneyWith a baby carriage.1, 2, 3, 4, 5… This game is popular on school playgrounds but works well at gatherings of kids or family reunions. It is best for more experienced jumpers as “jumping in” takes skill and practice. I like coffee,I like tea,I’d like for JaneyTo come in with me.1, 2, 3, 4, 5… Ice cream soda,Lemonade punch.Tell me the nameOf my honey-bunchA, B, C, D, E… Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear,Turn around.Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear,Touch the ground.Teddy Bear, Teddy BearTouch your shoe.Teddy Bear, Teddy BearThat will do.Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear,Go upstairs.Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear,Say your prayers.Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear,Turn out the light.Teddy Bear, Teddy BearSay good night! Not last night but the night before,Twenty-four robbers came knocking at my doorI asked them what they wanted,And this is what they said:Spanish Dancer, do the splits.Spanish Dancer, do the twist.Spanish Dancer, turn around.Spanish Dancer, touch the ground.Spanish Dancer, go out the back.Spanish Dancer, please come back.Spanish Dancer, read a book.Spanish Dancer, do not look.1, 2, 3, 4, 5… Like “I Like Coffee,” this rhyme also involves extra jumpers coming in and going out. Miss Lucy had a baby.She named him Tiny Tim.She put him in the bathtubTo see if he could swim. He drank up all the water.He ate up all the soap.He tried to eat the bathtub,But it got stuck in his throat. Miss Lucy called the doctor(Second jumper comes in.)The doctor called the nurse.(Third jumper comes in.)The nurse called the ladyWith the alligator purse.(Fourth jumper comes in.) “Mumps,” said the doctor.“Measles,” said the nurse.“Nothing,” said the womanWith the alligator purse. Miss Lucy hit the doctor.Miss Lucy slapped the nurse.Miss Lucy paid the womanWith the alligator purse. Out ran the doctor.Out ran the nurse.Out ran the ladyWith the alligator purse.(Extra jumpers exit.)